Honesty, integrity, experience
fullerton's finest dui attorney
Misdemeanor DUI - This has a much more lenient punishment and can be the best opportunity for any DUI offender if the evidence against you is strong and certain . Depending on your attorney, you may be able to obtain a plea down to a misdemeanor but many factors will weigh in to this decision from both the prosecutor and judge. The minimum amount of jail time for misdemeanor DUI is 48 hours. Fines can as low as $390, and penalties can total close to $1800. Your driving privileges can be suspended for up to 30 days.
Second time DUI offenders are faced with more jail time, heavier fines, and longer periods of lost driving privileges in the State of California. This works out to be close to $4000 in total DUI fines and penalties, not to mention the cost of hiring an attorney. You can serve up to 6 months in jail, with 10 days being the minimum requirement. You can lose your driving privileges from 1-2 years if convicted.
The main difference for Third or Fourth Time DUI offenders is the fact that the jail time requirement is anywhere from 120 - 180 days in jail as a minimum requirement and if these offenses are within 10 years from one another from your last DUI, you will pay up to $23,000 in fines and penalties.
Not only is there a risk for potentially serving jail time for DUI convictions, but there are also fines, and monetary penalties usually associated with these types of charges, including taking court appointed classes that you must pay for out of pocket. There is also the expense of hiring a private Fullerton DUI Attorney. California is hard on DUI crimes and they are not taken lightly.
If you are arrested for DUI, there are many things to consider. First time offenders, depending on their BAC level or blood alcohol level have an opportunity to reduce their charges to a misdemeanor, or depending on evidence and circumstances, earn a dismissal altogether. First time DUI offenders can serve up to 6 months - 10 months in jail if their BAC level is over 0.15%. Regardless of your BAC you may pay up to $1000 in fines and $2600 in DUI penalties. Let's not forget another important thing to consider, regardless of whether or not it is your first time being charged with DUI, you may lose your driving privileges for up to 6 months.
Remember, that all depends on the evidence against you, your BAC level also has a lot to do with it and the experience of the Fullerton DUI Attorney that you retain to represent you. ALSO IF YOUR BAC IS OVER 0.15% YOU WILL BE REQUIRED TO SERVE 3-5 YEARS PROBATION.